Rosary mysteries during Lent

During Lent 2012 I stumbled upon a web site (I cannot remember it now) that suggested that during Lent we normally meditate on the Sorrowful Mysteries seven days a week.
I took up that practice last year and have been doing so this year. I have found it helpful.

Now I read the following advice from Meditations on the Sorrowful Mysteries of the Rosary:

Catholics meditate on the Sorrowful Mysteries while praying the rosary on Tuesday and Friday, as well as on the Sundays of Lent.

I know that this is a personal devotion, but I HAVE to do what is right.:wink: (Just call me ‘Adrian Monk’.)
So just what is the ‘-]rule/-], er, guideline’?

My understanding was that we meditate on the sorrowful mysteries on Lent, but they only replace the glorious mysteries on Sunday. Is it all lent? How do you know? This is the site I’ve been using,, but if you have a magisterial source for it, I will defer.

I wouldn’t expect there to be a magisterial source for this as it is a private devotion, with not a whole lot of “rules”.
I did come across this thread however:

In that thread one poster says (post # 8):

You question got me curious, so before my wife & I started the Rosary last night, she checked her 1961 Missal. It says the use the Sorrowful Mysteries from Ash Wednesday to Easter. I think though, that you should say the Glorious or Joyful Mysteries should be said, since Sundays are not counted in the 40 days of Lent.

[Emphasis mine.]

As I said I cannot recall where I initially read that and it is not bookmarked on my computer. Last year I gained at least one insight into my spiritual life in doing so. (I find, however, that I’m especially missing the Joyful mysteries.)

Thanks for your (name removed by moderator)ut Aeden. :slight_smile:

Do Catholic Churches that do the Traditional Latin Mass accept the Luminous Mysteries of the Rosary? I recently attended my very first Latin Mass and the Missal they had in the pew did not have the Luminous Mysteries. :confused:

I just researched this recently because I had the same question. Check out this website:

We say the Glorious Mysteries on Sundays from the first Sunday after Easter to the last Sunday of the Liturgical Year (Christ the King), which is the Sunday before the first Sunday of Advent. Starting on the first Sunday of Advent, we say the Joyful Mysteries on Sundays until the Sunday prior to Ash Wednesday. Then we say the Sorrowful Mysteries on Sundays beginning on the first Sunday of Lent. We continue with the Sorrowful Mysteries on Sundays until the first Sunday after Easter Sunday. (Easter Sunday itself will still be the Sorrowful Mysteries). At that time, we switch back to the Glorious Mysteries on Sundays.

The other days never change. In other words, Mondays and Saturdays are always Joyful, Tuesdays and Fridays are always Sorrowful, and Thursdays are always Luminous.

I’m just like you in the way that if I’m making the effort to pray a particular prayer, I want to do it right. I hope this helps.