Are Meat Derivatives OK during Lent?

  • Thread starter Thread starter andcook
  • Start date Start date
Status
Not open for further replies.
A

andcook

Guest
Hi! I’m a cradle Catholic just recently getting back into the swing of things. During Lent this year, I was wondering if it was acceptable to consume products derived from meat that don’t have any meat taste. It doesn’t seem to me that it would violate the spirit of abstinence and it seems like it would be hard to avoid since so many foods have so many random ingredients. I am aware that the USCCB website (can’t link it since I’m new but it’s the USCCB Q&A about Lent page) says that traditionally foods without meat taste have been fine, but doesn’t mention their status in the current regulations. On a related note, should I assume unless I have reasonable suspicion that processed foods do not contain meat products? Thanks so much!
 
Wow I was not expecting such a quick response; thanks! Just clarifying, it would be ok to eat something derived from the flesh of an animal that doesn’t have the appearance/taste of meat? Also, the current rules reference condiments and seasonings from animal fat as being alright since it’s not technically flesh, but (hypothetically of course) would it be ok to just eat straight lard? Again, not planning to do that but I’m curious.
 
Personally, while I would consider eggs, cheese, milk etc OK, I would stay clear of products that use meat derivatives (such as gelatin etc). There is also the issue of cheese that has been made using animal rennet (if it doesn’t have a ‘suitable for vegetarians’ stamp on the pack you can assume it is made using animal rennet). A ‘belt and braces’ approach would probably mean avoiding such products.

But this is simply my view, I don’t claim this to be what the Church expects (I’m not entirely sure myself).
 
There is no need to be scrupulous about Friday abstinence. I was told years ago that one can fry an egg in bacon grease without worrying about microscopic pieces of bacon. If you wanted to observe a stricter fast or abstinence, that is fine, but not required.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top