Deadened Spiritual Life

• Thread starter Thread starter Elizastaci
  • Start date Start date
Status
Not open for further replies.
E

Elizastaci

Hi everyone! I’m posting this because I’m not sure where else to go, frankly, and everyone here has been so nice and supportive to me previously.

I’m a college freshman, just turned 19. I’ve been Catholic all my life but fell away at age twelve and returned, feeling a pull, at age seventeen. I’ve been to Mass every week since.

My father is Catholic and goes to Mass every week. My mother and sister were Catholic once but haven’t been to Church in years…long stories there.

Anyway, here’s my problem: I don’t feel I have a relationship with God. I keep the Commandments, I attend Mass every week and recieve Confession often. All because of this pull I felt nearly two years ago that these were the “right” things to do.

But I feel so empty all the time. I go to Mass- there’s a great Catholic church across the street from my dorm- and feel nothing. I’m sitting there, aware that a miracle is taking place but thinking about hair products or homework. I don’t have a relationship with God really- I never pray on my own, I don’t know how.

So I don’t know God or what He wants from my life. I know I desperately want marriage and children, but not now, not at 19. I want a spirtual life but I’m just so lost. I know anything you could ask about Brad and Angelina- but God’s role in my life? I’m clueless. I’m going through the motions with no feelings inside. And this is not making me happy. It’s not how I want to be. Is all this telling me that I’m not supposed to be Catholic? I don’t want that to be true, I really don’t, But I just don’t know anything anymore.

Any advice would be much appreciated. Thanks!