Do you feel you've missed your calling?

• Thread starter Thread starter retiredtxn
  • Start date Start date
Status
Not open for further replies.
R

retiredtxn

I have asked myself this question many times in my life and, if I’m being totally honest with myself, I have to answer, “YES”! I was not always a Catholic. I was raised Methodist but ALWAYS had a draw to Catholicism so I joined the church in the 1970’s. I had had an “experience” with BVM at the Catholic hospital where I was a nurse a couple years before my conversion. I have always ignored the “calling”. I didn’t seek a spiritual advisor at those times when the “calling” was the strongest. I’m not sure why. Maybe I was immature in my faith at that time…or just plain immature. Anyway, I married and raised a family. I tried to be happy with the secular world, but I don’t think I’ve ever been fulfilled. Now that I’m “older” and retired I think back and wonder what my life would have been if I’d persued the “calling”. The best I can do now is advise anyone that “feels” they’re being called to seek an advisor and take your time and pray constantly for guidance. Don’t make any other commitments in your life while you are “sorting” this out. It will only confuse you even more.

Hmmm… thanks for your good advice.

May I offer this for whomever is thinking about this as something to chew on.

I was starting to consider becoming a religious (as a sister, not a nun) in my early 20’s. Asked our parish’s DRE as well as my professor in college about this. Although neither one of them had ever met the other, their answer for me was a question back at me. That question?

“What is it that you want to find out if you’re called to be a sister (or nun)? Is it the work? Or is it the lifestyle?”

I answered: “the work!”

At which point, both of them told me this, in so many words: