Does the Rosary need the beads

• Thread starter Thread starter Pbuschur
  • Start date Start date
Status
Not open for further replies.
P

Pbuschur

My wife and I have been praying the rosary consistently for 6 months now. However, we actually do not use beads, but instead use our fingers. The reason for this is two fold: 1) you always have your fingers with you, and 2) we often pray while we are running, and it is just not convenient using the rosary. I know they have rosary rings, but curious if it is necessary to use the beads while praying the rosary.

We’ve become so use to this, we went to adoration the other day, and we knew this included the rosary at the closing, and we did not even think to bring the rosary.

Any insight? 🙂
Thanks, Patrick

I hope not! I pray the rosary as I am working out at the gym. I love to hop on the treadmill or another machine and pray away.

I think the rosary beads help in the counting but are not required to make a vaild rosary devotion.

Nope. The rosary, itself, does not need the beads.

I, as a human being, am made physically as well as spiritually, emotionally, and psychologically. As such, it is quite helpful to have a physical component to my prayer.

It doesn’t have to be the beads, though.

Mom taught us kids to pray the rosary with using only our hands, if we had to (if we didn’t have rosary beads on us).

I’ve used my fingers for a rosary while my husband was driving what seemed to me to be “willy nilly” when it was snowing outside and dark and on a mountain road and it felt to be WAY too fast to me for ANYone to be driving that fast… especially in snow!! :eek:

At the time, I’d been in snow exactly, let me count… ONCE… in my life. THAT time!!

Would’ve grabbed onto my rosary beads if I’d had them, though!

On another forum, they were discussing something and the subject of the rosary came up.