Evangelical Artist in Rome

• Thread starter Thread starter JohnCarroll
  • Start date Start date
Status
Not open for further replies.
J

JohnCarroll

For many years I was an Evangelical artist who was making art for Catholic Churches— trying to convince my friends that catholics really don’t worship the things I was making . Then i was ( for a shorter time) an Episcopalian Artist making art for Catholic Churches. Now my wife and I are about to enter the Catholic Church–at last. You might think the two things are related ( my job and my conversion) but not so. It was really EWTN ,the Early Church Fathers and , I hope, the Holy Spirit.

I just wanted to say hello and to ask if a Church artist can add any thing to the conversation. Does any one want to talk about Church Art? I hope you will not think this is a commercial appeal , it is not. Please DON"T use me! I just want to talk about a subject i love, Catholic art.
JohnCarroll

It is absolutely to have you and your wife back home John. Welcome back! :blessyou:

A big hello to you too. :tiphat:
We would love to hear about the work you have done and how you are doing in your spiritual life.

Unfortunately I don’t know much about Church art 😦 but I would love to learn whatever you may have to teach.

God bless you and your wife.

Welcome John, to you and your wife.

God Bless both of you and EWTN!

I would be interested in your recommendations and links pertaining to contemporary Catholic art and artists. I bet there are some good things out there, but they are hard for your average Catholic to find.

Thanks.

I am happy for you coming home as part of your faith journey.

Speaking of art, I’ve seen some of the ancient art in Medieval European Churches, as well as the art that decorated Churches in this country prior to the current “spare Protestant-style modern” trend, and I have to say it really lifts my heart to God.