Got my very first Rosary. Now what?

• Thread starter Thread starter Cairisti
  • Start date Start date
Status
Not open for further replies.
C

Cairisti

Well, first of all, I’m rather new at all this. Coming from a Baptist background, Rosary’s are rather new. 😃 Anyway, I just got my first ever! Rosary. It’s very exciting , but I’m a little lost.

So now what? Do I need to get it blessed? I know the prayers that one says, but is there some graph or something that one can use to help keep up? I’m confused as to when and where the Our Father and Glory Be’s come in at times. 😃 Is there a site that can help? Thanks!

40.png
Cairisti:
I know the prayers that one says, but is there some graph or something that one can use to help keep up? … Is there a site that can help? Thanks!
Welcome to the Rosary! It really is the neatest “formal” prayer I’ve eve\r come across!

Actually, the beads are used in place of the graph.

And yes, there are lots of sites that help. One of my favorites is the .pdf at rosaryshop.com/pdfs/prayingTheRosary.pdf

The same site ( rosaryshop.com/ ) has some helpful hints at : rosaryshop.com/resources.php/request/method

The tricky part of the Rosary, for me, is that when you’re saying the Hail Mary prayers, you’re not thinking about them. I usually trying to contemplate the words I’m saying in prayer, but during the Rosary you “ignore” the words and mediatate on the corresponding mystery.