How Do I Fast?

• Thread starter Thread starter Max
  • Start date Start date
Status
Not open for further replies.
M

Max

Hi,

I’ve had a lot of trouble trying to fast, even for a day. I can’t seem to get enough willpower to do it! I’ve tried a few times, but I always fail quite miserably by evening at latest. What do I do about it, it can be so frustrating…suggestions?

Describe what you do when you’re fasting. Are you giving up food entirely or just cutting back? Are you eating certain foods (such as bread and water) but not others?

Are you fasting on Krispy Kreme? (It makes a difference!) :tsktsk:

I am no expert, but I did fast for a while on Wednesdays and Fridays. I read somewhere that you could take juice and still call it a fast . When I would get hungry, I thought about Jesus in the desert, and offered up the discomfort. It seemed to help. 👍

Describe what you do when you’re fasting. Are you giving up food entirely or just cutting back? Are you eating certain foods (such as bread and water) but not others?
I tried giving up food entirely.

That’s the wrong way to do it–and it’s not necessary spiritually.

Instead, try this:

Eat half of your regular breakfast or just limit yourself to toasted (not buttered or jammed) bread and water.

Skip lunch, but don’t skip water during the day. Drink lots of water. It fills you up for a while and prevents you from getting woozy.

Eat a half-size dinner of regular food. Make dinner earlier than usual, to compensate partly for skipping lunch.

Use this regimen for four months (presuming you want to fast one day a week). If your health still seems fine, then go to bread and water for dinner, leaving breakfast as before.

Use this regimen for another four months. If you want to cut back additionally, try skipping breakfast entirely and having just bread and water for dinner. Don’t skip water during the day.