How do I response to JPII protecting Marciel Degollado?

• Thread starter Thread starter CruzPaolo
  • Start date Start date
Status
Not open for further replies.
C

CruzPaolo

Hi! I’m new to this page. I have a old account but I forgot the password. Someone claimed that Marciel Degollado is a pedophile? And I don’t even know him. And he also claimed that JPII protected the pedophile. I only know the basic history of JPII (fall of communism and why he is a saint, etc.) But I’ve never heard of this. Might need some help! Thanks and Pax Christi.

Last edited:
Marcial Maciel as he’s better known was indeed a pedophile, drug addict, serial sexual abuser and father of about six children. He was the founder of the Legionaries of Christ which is/was known for its very rigorous priestly formation and staunch orthodoxy. Described as and the “greatest fundraiser of the modern Roman Catholic church,” He was also a charismatic leader and very successful in recruiting seminarians at a time of declining vocations. Understandably, he found favour with JPII. How much was known about Marciel, by whom and when is debatable - certainly there were a number of accusations which were ignored and Marciel’s reputation (and his order’s wealth) no doubt contributed to this. That said, accusation of sexual abuse were widely mishandled around that time (1970’s/80’s) for a whole range of reasons.