How to Pray for a Soul in Purgatory?

• Thread starter Thread starter jmm08
  • Start date Start date
Status
Not open for further replies.
J

jmm08

I am a Baptist and just started RCIA.

When I was an undergraduate at Pennsylvania State Univerisity, I was in the Roman Catholic Chapel Choir (I wasn’t a Roman Catholic then). Because you all have the best music. And Father May always had us do such beautiful music.

Father May died about eight years ago. Now I know that I can pray for him as a soul in purgatory, or I can pray to him as an unofficial saint. I’ll probably do both. Either way, Father May will know I am praying. And perhaps it will give him some joy.

Praying to him as a saint, I ask this: that I will be allowed to join and sing in Father May’s heavenly choir.

So my question is this. How do I pray for a soul in purgatory? If he isn’t there, then my prayers are used for somebody else in purgatory – is that right?

My daughter also sang in that choir at Penn State, we were so pleasantly surprised everytime we attended. I heard an interesting presentation of prayers for souls in purgatory by a Father Hughes during a parish mission, his source, he said was Thomas Aquinas. I hope I am summarizing accurately.

At the moment of death we leave the realm of earthly time and enter eternity, where all moments are one with God. It is then that we meet and know and are judged by God, making our once-for-eternity choice to Love Him or reject Him. Since that “confronation” is in eternity, the prayers of those who pray for us after death, and the grace they are pleading for, are with us at that moment supporting us. the purification we require to enter heaven is undergone in eternity, not in temporal constructs, so our heavenly happiness begins then, or our eternal punishment if we choose that way. It is almost impossible to wrap our earth-bound minds around the concept of eternity, but it is a starting point.