I thought that fish was meat

  • Thread starter Thread starter Caitlin
  • Start date Start date
Status
Not open for further replies.
C

Caitlin

Guest
I was watching this video about meatless lent dishes. I was surprised to see the woman using salmon in the very first recipe. I also remember reading somewhere that meat is not allowed but fish is. I always thought that fish was a meat. And that meat was not allowed on Ash Wednesday or Fridays. Can someone explain this?
 
I was told that, way back, only the rich could afford meat. It was considered a luxury, because only the wealthy had land on which to raise livestock. Fish, however, was considered food for the poor because rivers did not belong to anyone, so anyone could catch fish to eat. Therefore, when the discipline of abstaining developed, fish was allowed because it was considered humble food, not a luxury. Of course, nowadays, seafood is considered rather luxurious and beef and other meats quite common. But the tradition still remains. We should, however, strive to avoid overindulging during Lent, whether it be fish or meat, but that is why fish is allowed on Fridays and meat is not.

If I’m wrong, take it up with Sister Angelita, my 7th grade religion teacher waaaaaay back in 1979!
 
I always thought that fish was a meat.
I’m surprised to hear that. Do you live in an English-speaking country? From earliest childhood we learn that “meat” and “fish” are two different kinds of food.
 
In the Byzantine Tradition, fish with backbones to be meat. Only fish without backbones are eaten during the Great Fast.
 
http://www.usccb.org/prayer-and-worship/liturgical-year/lent/questions-and-answers-about-lent.cfm

Q. I understand that all the Fridays of Lent are days of abstinence from meat, but I’m not sure what is classified as meat. Does meat include chicken and dairy products?

A. Abstinence laws consider that meat comes only from animals such as chickens, cows, sheep or pigs — all of which live on land. Birds are also considered meat. Abstinence does not include meat juices and liquid foods made from meat. Thus, such foods as chicken broth, consomme, soups cooked or flavored with meat, meat gravies or sauces, as well as seasonings or condiments made from animal fat are technically not forbidden. However, moral theologians have traditionally taught that we should abstain from all animal-derived products (except foods such as gelatin, butter, cheese and eggs, which do not have any meat taste). Fish are a different category of animal. Salt and freshwater species of fish, amphibians, reptiles, (cold-blooded animals) and shellfish are permitted. (bold is mine).

All other animals are warm-blooded creatures.
 
Yeah my dd asked if we can eat frog legs or alligator and things of that nature during lent 9n friday. She’s a deep thinker. Here we can get neither she was testing me 🙂
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top