Is cheating on a test that does not affect your grades a sin?

• Thread starter Thread starter Devoted2
  • Start date Start date
Status
Not open for further replies.
D

Devoted2

I cheated on a 2-4 of my examinations this year at my university where I am studying law as I was being lazy at the time and did not study enough. At the time of these events I was aware I was being deceptive, I cannot remember if I was truly aware of how sinful this could be? These examinations do not contribute to my degree in any way and as a first year student they were only designed to ensure I progress onto my second year where my degree officially begun. Have I committed a mortal sin? And am I obliged to inform the university that I cheated which could have serious consequences for me as it will severely alter my chances of ever being employed. I wish I had never done these things and will ensure that I do not cheat during my degree. This will also affect family members who have contributed to my University through money they have given me for accommodation and food etc which may now be considered wasted if I admit what I have done to the University as they would likely expel me. Have I committed mortal sins? Must I admit what I have done to the University and risk so much or am I able to repent and move on and earn my degree in an honest way?

Last edited: