Is there a spiritual doctor in the house?

• Thread starter Thread starter The_NW_Neophyte
  • Start date Start date
Status
Not open for further replies.
T

The_NW_Neophyte

Hi…

I’m a newbie - driven by a need for spiritual discernment in the area of dealing with family matters as a Christian who desires to walk my talk.

The problem: A 40+ year-old sibling with a history of bi-polar, alcohol and substance abuse who is recently “clean & sober” after a near-jail experience because his ex-wife falsely accused him of child molestation. The ex-wife has a history of substance abuse (alcohol + meth). (We didn’t believe it true because of the circumstances around her accusations. There are two kids involved, girl age 3 and boy age 5. As recently as Easter weekend there was a new false accusation again without substance. The LA court threw it out. In fact, the court gave my brother overnight custody on a regular basis and whenever the ex-wife wanted to go out of town.

We think my brother is clean & sober.

Here’s my dilemma: My brother wants to bring the kids up to the NW to see “Grandma” and, since the ex-wife has been on good behavior that we should be “Christians” and greet them with open arms. After all “you say you’re all Christians and you should be forgiving.” I’m deeply troubled by his sudden newfound “friendship” with her and that he would even consider bringing her near us.