Joyful v. Glorious Mysteries

• Thread starter Thread starter JDHallKY
  • Start date Start date
Status
Not open for further replies.
J

JDHallKY

I am new to the Church, so my experience with the rosary and other devotions and sacramentals is limited, but I had always heard that the Glorious Mysteries were to be prayed on Sundays. I know the assignment of mysteries to days is not a strict rule, but more of a guide to praying through the mysteries during the course of the week. But I recently noticed in my missal that it says to pray the Glorious mysteries on Wednesdays and Sundays from Easter to Advent. The Joyful Mysteries are to be prayed on Sundays from Advent to Lent (with the Sorrowful Mysteries being prayed every day during Lent). I have seen several guides on praying the rosary, and they have always said to pray the Glorious Mysteries on Sundays, without qualification.

So, I’m just curious. Are there differing traditions and practices on this? Again, I know it’s not a big deal which mysteries you pray on which day, but I’d just like to know more about this…

I haven’t seen the missal in which you found this change in days, but it isn’t unheard of to emphasize one set of mysteries during the various Church seasons. I’m sure it’s just a suggestion not something you have to do unless you want to.

40.png
JDHallKY:
. But I recently noticed in my missal that it says to pray the Glorious mysteries on Wednesdays and Sundays from Easter to Advent. The Joyful Mysteries are to be prayed on Sundays from Advent to Lent (with the Sorrowful Mysteries being prayed every day during Lent).