Less than orthodox pastors

• Thread starter Thread starter karisue
  • Start date Start date
Status
Not open for further replies.
K

karisue

Any suggestions for how to handle a pastor who is less than orthodox?

Where is the line between obedience and I-really-need-to-say-something? (Esp when saying something will unlikely change anything…)

I’d love your thoughts … I’m sure that there are several people on these boards to bear this particular cross daily.

I have been fighting this for many years in several different parishes. There was a post on one of these boards that asked. What was you pet peeves with the liturgy abuse. or something like that. The abuses don’t bother me as much as Pastors, Priests, and Religious who dissent from Church teaching and do it willfully and publicly as well as those who disobey in matters of discipline. Who again do it intentionally and do it with as much attention as possible.
I was told by a priest I spoke with last week that is you can do is form a group of people who are concerned. Then speak to him or her wtih kindness, write them and include a cc to the Bishop, and then write the Bishop and ask specifically for a reply. Again do this all as a group not as individuals. His final suggestion was to move to another parish.

I think the only thing that will help (you) is to vote with your feet. We ran that gamut in our old parish, right up to contacting the cardinal. There is very little that a diocese will do to a priest as long as he isn’t causing public scandal.