Mary - the Ark of the Covenant

• Thread starter Thread starter NotWorthy
  • Start date Start date
Status
Not open for further replies.
N

NotWorthy

I recently read where the Ark of the Covenant pre-figured Mary, as being the dwelling of God. Edward Sri wrote an essay on it in “Catholic for a Reason”. I’ve also heard it referenced in some posts throughout the forum. I’m curious, how long has this relationship been written about? It’s a beautiful comparison, but one that I’ve been unaware of until recently. Any ideas?
Thanks!

I remember reading something simmilar; basically, there are quite a lot of parallels between Mary and the Ark, but I’m no expert. I’ll try and find you the website though.

I recall hearing that many times when I was a kid, and since. A traditional depiction, I believe.

Dear friends

Mary is the Ark of the New Covernant, she being the first disciple and the first to have God indwell her body which echoes the Eucharistic Covenant of the Body and Blood of Christ.

For me our Blessed Virgin Mother Mary is what every Christian should aspire to be as a true follower and disciple of Christ. It is therefore only truly through Mary that we can hope to achieve Christ-like resemblance, Christ surely resembles His Mother as well as His Father in Heaven and surely through her humanity elevated all humanity to the Kingdom of Heaven and all it’s fruits. The Kingdom of Heaven not being so, unless it is God and God being the Kingdom and the whole of the Kingdom, which reigns in each baptised soul that would remain in His grace. Mary being full of grace held the Kingdom of Heaven within her and befitting then the Son of God borne from this Kingdom reigning within her.