Morality and Inheritance

• Thread starter Thread starter DENNYINMI
  • Start date Start date
Status
Not open for further replies.
D

DENNYINMI

Even Scripture speaks of Inheritance and this question speaks of it in relation to morality.
My question is this: I have 3 children, and it is my youngest who’s Father is still alive that stands to inherit quite an estate.

I am a working registered nurse who owns her own home, has modest investments for retirement with a modest bank account.

This youngest child comes to me with many needs. I have helped all of them in ways through the years with a happy heart, but it is the youngest that has received much and will stand to inherit much more than my other two. Ironically, she makes herself scarce unless she has a need, but that is not what I wish to discuss.

Must an inheritance be equal in allotment? Is there a moral implication of leaving a bulk of what remains to the two that will never acquire what the one will have through her Father?

My first husband is deceased, so I would like to leave what I have to my oldest two, with a gift of money to my grandchild, the daughter of the third child I have been speaking of.

Morally, must an inheritance be equal in allotment?

No. What you have is yours to do with it as you please

As one who had a parent be victimized by unscrupulous “advisors,” leading to much post-death litigation, what you may want to do - distasteful as it may be - is to communicate with all involved while you’re able to, and/or give assets away as you’d like to, while you’re still with us.

I don’t believe it needs to be equal. What you have is yours to share as you wish. Your youngest appears to be receiving part of a share already. And has something else coming.

You should do whatever you wish, and what you wish sounds perfectly reasonable and fair.

I would like to leave what I have to my oldest two, with a gift of money to my grandchild, the daughter of the third child I have been speaking of.