Moved by the Holy Spirit

• Thread starter Thread starter eleusis
  • Start date Start date
Status
Not open for further replies.
E

eleusis

Yesterday I was on my way to work and felt compeled to find a daily mass. I swung by a parish near the office and found a time that I could make. Work got in the way but at the last moment I again felt a burden to go (I’m not a daily mass guy) so I went. Then this morning I was suddenly awakened, wide awake, and couldn’t get back to sleep so I got out of bed an hour early and sat in my study for a short morning prayer then began to study (I’m a grad student). The kids padded out of their room and proceeded to watch TV like everyday, usually 15 minutes before I get up. Suddenly from down stairs I hear my eldest (5) say “Spit it out Sabrina, spit it out now!” Sabrina is the youngest at just under 2. Her tone galvanized me and I rushed down stairs to pull a tiny red ball from her mouth.

I believe all of my days prayer life was motivated by the Holy Spirit and God’s Grace to make me sensitive to the Stiring of the HS in the morning so I’d be awake for Sabrina’s sake.

Has anyone else shared such an active motivation by the Holy Spirit and acted upon it later to see a reason? Please share.
And Thank You GOD for my daughter.
Thanks,

yes! I feel there have been times when I have been pulled out of bed by the Holy Spirit. God speaks to you in the quiet of your heart. Your story makes perfect sense to me.

You are blessed - because you chose to listen to the Holy Spirit.

You have opened yourself up to hearing and doing the will of God. What a gift!!!

I have recently had similar situations where the HS has guided me to start daily mass at lunch hour and daily Adoration. Among many other directives. I have started to listen to these no matter how hard, inconvenient, how odd they may be. I have even lost a friend because she thought me to be getting too religious.