National Anthem Copyright

• Thread starter Thread starter ArmiLegge
  • Start date Start date
Status
Not open for further replies.
A

ArmiLegge

I am an admin in a group online, I always check the posts that are being posted and making sure nothing is wrong with them.

I’ve encountered two posts, they are videos with National Anthems. I allowed it but my scrupulousy was triggered and check different sources if it is copyrighted, I did not find anything. I asked him on private messages, he said he got it from Youtube.

What should I do?

I think you answered your own question in your OP.

If it is copyrighted content that is available on a public streaming site, it would seem to be the responsibility of the owner (or hosting platform) to monitor that content’s existence on the platform - not your responsibility, unless there is some special reason to within the group you are administering (like it is a governmental project).

You could also just remove it. Seems easy enough.

The other video is on Youtube but if its copyrighted, there would be the name of the company and the title of the song below the description. (I think)

Last edited:
YouTube is pretty quick acting when it comes to copyright. They remove videos regularly. If they haven’t removed it odds are the owner doesn’t care. There’s also a thing called fair use.

YouTube is pretty quick acting when it comes to copyright. They remove videos regularly. If they haven’t removed it odds are the owner doesn’t care. There’s also a thing called fair use.
Fair use with recordings is tricky-- copyright is very tricky. It’s different than fair use of print items.

Last edited:
So, can I allow the videos to stay because I am not sure and let the host platform to decide?

Given your posting history and your admitted struggles with scrupulosity, you should not post these kinds of questions here. Seek help offline with your priest and a counselor.

Others would be well advised not to continue replying.