Offering up Communion

• Thread starter Thread starter Maria-Pia
  • Start date Start date
Status
Not open for further replies.
M

Maria-Pia

How does one offer up their Communion?

Any specific prayers to say or scripture verses to contemplate?

What happens when one offers up their Communion?

I get to answer first. What a privilege. While I can’t offer you a good scholarly answer I can offer what I have been doing for 29 years. Maybe I have been less than perfect in my Holy Communion offerings for the past 29 years but here is what I’ve been doing.
Immediately following reception of Holy Communion I go back to the pew and offer thanks that Jesus has come down to unite himself with me and I ask for his Sacred Heart to encompass my weak, human heart. After Mass ends I remain a minute or two and offer the Holy Sacrifice of the Mass along with my Holy Communion for a variety of intentions ranging from the health and guidance of our Pope to meaningful employment for an out-of-work family member; however, I don’t think I’m answering your question very well. I think that when we are in a state of grace (not conscious of having committed any mortal sin) and receive Jesus in the Holy Eucharist this is the most efficacious time to ask of him what we need by merit of his passion and cross and by being physically and spiritually so close to him.
Anyone feel free to redirect my thinking if I am off course on Maria’s question. As for specific prayers I personally like praying St. Padre Pio’s Communion Prayer.