Out of Body Experience

• Thread starter Thread starter Sirach14
  • Start date Start date
Status
Not open for further replies.
S

Sirach14

Has the Church ever made a statement regarding "out of body’ experiences?
Have you noticed that everyone who has had these experiences all see a bright light, and have complete peace? Nothing about how one has lived their earthly life, or judgement.
Is this similar to Paul saying he was caught up in the third heaven?

I’m no doctor but I believe the consensus it that OBEs and NDEs are the merely response of a the brain to oxygen depravation

AFAIK the Church doesn’t have an opinion on them

Spiritdaily.com has covered this issue a couple times in the past…it is hosted by Michael brown, I think, and it seems predominately Catholic…it is a newsy sort of page…
There were several stories of people who lived terrible lives and died in sin who had the “out of body-floating” etc but it changed quickly into demons and blackness coming for them before they were put back into their bodies. The Big Conversion followed…
Conversely, there were stories of peace for those who were holy at death…then they were sent back with a zest for holiness and renewed with a sense of longing for Heaven.
In these cases, it was much more than mere oxygen deprivation. IT was gift from God to help them get themselves back on the right track or it was a comfort to know there is nothing to fear when we are in the state of grace.
For the rest of us, it is a testimony to the existence of ourselves after bodily death.

Love in Jesus,
Shelby Grace