Pilgrimages

• Thread starter Thread starter sklenko
  • Start date Start date
Status
Not open for further replies.
S

sklenko

What about making pilgrmages in the US?Do you wander on foot?
I come from Slovakia and there is a good tradition in making pilgrimages on foot.For the past three years I have taken part in pilgrimages with another young people conducted by Jesuits.We were wandering all the week to reach a Marian pilgrim site dedicated to Virgin Mary.We would ask people for a bit of food and sometimes even for shelter(in sleeping bags).There are many exceptional experiences of generosity done by villagers and bypassers and of course what the Lord did for us.
I also know of several similar pilgrimages in Europe.Have you any similar experiences?

I am very new in the Catholic faith. I am going to RCIA (2nd class is tonight). I’ve been out of work for awhile. I only started reading Fulton Sheen late in June.

On August 26, I was taking the metro (Washington DC subway). And I saw some beautiful buildings in the distance. So I got off and went to the Crypt Church in the Basilica of the National Shrine of the Immaculate Conception. It wasn’t walking from home like you probably mean.

Now, if I get any more job interviews downtown (I had one on September 8 – Mary’s Birthday), I want to go to the Crypt Church in the Basilica (it is near the metro).

I have never had any such experiences, nor have I heard of anybody else making a pilgrimage on foot here in the U.S. Unfortunately, most of the people here are so suspicious that they probably would not give you food or shelter. Maybe good Catholic people, but I don’t know. Europe has so many wonderful traditions!