Prayer and ADD

• Thread starter Thread starter Mom_of_one
  • Start date Start date
Status
Not open for further replies.
M

Mom_of_one

Got any ideas for praying when one can’t concentrate long enough to pray? I have such a difficult time praying without my mind wandering. I have ADD and doing anything that requires focus is a problem. And, yes, I am taking medication for the ADD.

Realize that God already knows what we’re going to ask. So if you can’t concentrate beyond 3 min then so be it. Make good use of that 3 min.

If you so desire to train yourself however, then start by WRITING the prayer in a piece of paper instead of reciting it. When people write it enables them to concentrate more and think more slowly. In fact one of the method for studying is to write on a sheet of paper what you’re studying. I found this method very effective when I was a student.

40.png
beng:
Realize that God already knows what we’re going to ask. So if you can’t concentrate beyond 3 min then so be it. Make good use of that 3 min.

If you so desire to train yourself however, then start by WRITING the prayer in a piece of paper instead of reciting it. When people write it enables them to concentrate more and think more slowly. In fact one of the method for studying is to write on a sheet of paper what you’re studying. I found this method very effective when I was a student.
Fantastic advice!!!

God Bless you and much love and peace to you

Teresa

I place a cricifix on the table in front of me and focus on that while I’m praying. I also keep my prayers short.

By saying “thank God” for the little things happen to you throughout the day. I just learned the word “thank” derived from
“think”, so thinking truly about God is praying…