Prayer in the form of letters?

• Thread starter Thread starter raphaela
  • Start date Start date
Status
Not open for further replies.
R

raphaela

I;ve had this idea kickin aroudn for a while in my head. I have a problem praying. Whenever I pray (somethign that isn’t already written and has placeholders, like the rosary) I get confused, forget what I am saying and then get frudtrated because I can’t even talk to God properly. See, I’ve struggled with a speech impediment all my life. I self-taught myself to not stutter when talkign to people, but sometimes, especially in my head or when I’m nervous, i can’t concentrate enough to do that. Plus, my social skills are definely lacking (i wasn’t allowed to talk to adults until i was about 13, so I never learned how to speak right in front of them) so I’ve always been better at writing.

So would it be wrong to write letters, to God, Jesus, or Mary? I would be praying but it’s easier to get my thoughts through that way. I could practice praying normally but sometimes it’s so hard. Is this a good idea?

Does the church have anything written about forms of prayer?

That’s a wonderful idea!

The first thing you should write is a thankyou letter to the Holy Spirit for showing you how to pray openly with Him.

Please remember, however, that the words we use to pray is not what makes the prayer. Its the love and desire in our hearts to spend time with God and grow closer to him that is the heart of the prayer. Therfore simply trying to pray outloud, even if it doesn’t turn out very well, pleases God. Furthermore, many forms of prayer exist that aren’t limited to words: Adoration of the blessed sacrament, dancing, working hard, fasting, helping others, etc.

Josh

Journaling can also be a helpful form of prayer as well as letters.