Prayer

• Thread starter Thread starter Greg_McPherran
  • Start date Start date
Status
Not open for further replies.
G

Greg_McPherran

Hello,

I have some questions regarding prayer. I find I am often not attracted to prayer. It always seems like a chore and I rarely look forward to doing it. As a professional, my instinct is that we have to work to get things accomplished. My hope is that by understanding prayer, I will see it as a more valuable use of time.
  1. Can we have an experience of God that we know for sure is God? What was the experience like for the apostles when they received the Holy Spirit?
  2. If we know we have to work, then why is prayer needed? E.g. we cannot just pray to mow our lawn, we have to do it ourselves. It would seem prayer has no impact on actually getting any daily work done.
  3. Is there any way to prove that prayer does anything? How do we know it’s not all wishful thinking and our imagination?
  4. Why would Jesus pray to the Father? The Father already lives in Him?
  5. Is there any scriptural basis for prayer to saints?
  6. Why would I ever prefer a prayer to a saint instead of to God?
Thank You,
Greg

40.png
Greg_McPherran:
Howdy!!
  1. Can we have an experience of God that we know for sure is God? What was the experience like for the apostles when they received the Holy Spirit?
When they first received the holy Sprit scripture doesn’t mention any reaction of the apostles (John 20:22). Later, at Pentecost, the apostles spoke in other languages and were emboldened to preach the gospel. I think it’s important to realize that experiences of the holy Spirit are individual and may or may not involve feelings. We can’t really measure our experience against anyone else’s.
  1. If we know we have to work, then why is prayer needed? E.g. we cannot just pray to mow our lawn, we have to do it ourselves. It would seem prayer has no impact on actually getting any daily work done.