Prayers for breaking Generational curses & Healing Family tree

• Thread starter Thread starter dizzy_dave
  • Start date Start date
Status
Not open for further replies.
Please have masses said for your family tree both living and deceased. This has always been encouraged by the Church. Praying for the dead is a work of mercy.

You can never go wrong with having masses said for loved ones.

I realize that I am just a newbie, bit in the “for what it is worth” category, I’d go with the rebuttles in the “catholic Doors” website.

As I, too, come from a pretty messed up family, this subject is one I have considered often, especially due to such passages as found in Exodus (as mentioned in the articles), and the seeping in of mormon traditions. But, my experience is that, the “curse” that I see operating in my life, is a circumstantial one; but not a mandatory one. Yes, for a single “minor” example, due to the habits of my mother, I have “inherited” an oral addiction related to drinking. However, I do not choose to satiate that habit through alchohol as she did (iced tea and Dr. Pepper are bad enough). Certainly, in some cases, I could “get away” with a lot if I indulged in this factor of the “family curse”, and would, in the short run, make things easier (not being my fault, afterall); but then I would be a slave to those things which our Redeemer has already given us power over. Should I indulge the bad history of my family, then yes, as Exodus promises, then my children will also suffer from the curse of my parents, as I did (and I should be, with a 95% chance according to criminologists, writing this from Prison, rather than from my home). But, I know that Christ has given us the power (and Duty), each and every one of us, to overcome these circumstances with His help.