Professor of Early Christianity - ask me (almost) anything!

• Thread starter Thread starter billsherman
  • Start date Start date
Status
Not open for further replies.
B

billsherman

I’ve done this a couple of times before, and enjoyed it. I wasn’t pleased with the last attempt ending sooner than I wished, so I figured I’d give it a second attempt.

I’m a professor in the US who teaches and writes about the historical Jesus and early Christianity. I’m a historian, and not a theologian, so my approach to the subjects is dictated by historical methodology. A good primer in what that entails can be found here (about one of my favorite historians Msgr. John Meier): https://www.franciscanmedia.org/finding-the-historical-jesus-an-interview-with-john-p-meier/

Feel free to ask any historical questions, and I’ll do my best to answer. Also feel free to ask any questions about being a scholar. There are a lot of misconceptions out there about what we do (ivory towers are drafty, and the pay is low!), and I’d be happy to discuss my profession.

The previous threads on this topic can be found here:
40.png
Historian of Early Christianity waiting for school to start . . . ask me anything! Non-Catholic Religions
I’ve seen a few posts by Atheists looking to answer questions, so I thought it might be fun for me to try the same thing with my interest - Early Christian history. A few pieces of background: I’m a professor of Early Christian history (including the Historical Jesus) at a US university. I am a historian, NOT a theologian. If you have any questions about Christology or things of that nature, I am not the best resource. Also, I am not interested in debating faith. That is something best left…
40.png
Professor of Early Christian History here, ask me anything! Non-Catholic Religions