Questions on teaching and practices

• Thread starter Thread starter Retroactivereality18
  • Start date Start date
Status
Not open for further replies.
R

Retroactivereality18

I’m not sure what category this is supposed to be in but I’ll try to get to the point as quick as possible. I’ve been considering Catholicism off and on for 5 years and have been my most serious about it the last year or so and I nearly started RCIA but Covid 19 put a stop to that. I’ve had time to think and I keep questioning the churches teachings and practices. Why do so many things Catholics do cause controversy? Like statues and images for instance, the Bible clearly doesn’t have many nice things to say about them yet Catholics use them because they claim its “different” when they do it. Same with the rosary, Jesus instructed against repetitious prayer yet catholics do it because it’s supposedly not the same thing Jesus was preaching against. The last example I’ll give is that Jesus said he is the only mediator between us and god yet that Catholics have a pope, Mary, and the saints that they pray to and once again it’s defended as praying to the saints is not the same as using them as a meditator

I guess the main point is that it seems catholic teaching contains so many things that are controversial or could be interpreted as heresy. Also, it certainly doesn’t help that Protestant friends and family have plenty to choose from when they’re trying to “prove” Catholicism wrong. It’s makes me hesitant to even become a catholic. I’m just trying to understand why the church does so many things that look wrong from the outside looking in. If anyone knows of any books or has any insight into the matter to help me out I would appreciate it

Last edited:
Well you’re on the right site! 😁