Rosary Mysteries Help #1 - The Annunciation

• Thread starter Thread starter Flopfoot
  • Start date Start date
Status
Not open for further replies.
F

Flopfoot

Hi all.
I thought I would start a series of threads about the mysteries of the rosary - what they are about and what people meditiate on when praying those mysteries - as many people often ask for explanations and what they should think about and etc. about the mysteries of the rosary.
I’m no expert on the mysteries myself so I too would appreciate anyone who can give suggestions and explain things in depth. Any little interesting points that grab you about this mystery, what authors have written about it etc.

So, this first thread is about the first joyful mystery - The Annunciation.

Here is the main relevant bible passage for this mystery - Luke 1:26-38 (below is ESV translation)

**26 ******In the sixth month the angel Gabriel was sent from God to a city of Galilee named Nazareth, **27 **to a virgin betrothed to a man whose name was Joseph, of the house of David. And the virgin’s name was Mary. **28 **And he came to her and said, “Greetings, O favored one, the Lord is with you!” **29 **But she was greatly troubled at the saying, and tried to discern what sort of greeting this might be. **30 **And the angel said to her, “Do not be afraid, Mary, for you have found favor with God. **31 **And behold, you will conceive in your womb and bear a son, and you shall call his name Jesus. **32 **He will be great and will be called the Son of the Most High. And the Lord God will give to him the throne of his father David, **33 **and he will reign over the house of Jacob forever, and of his kingdom there will be no end.”

**34 **And Mary said to the angel, “How will this be, since I am a virgin?”