So the Scientologists were in town yesterday...

• Thread starter Thread starter Lurker
  • Start date Start date
Status
Not open for further replies.
L

Lurker

I’m not sure how many of you have heard of the Scientologists, but they’re… Odd. To say the least. They claim to be a religion, but not a religion in that you can “be a Scientologist and a Catholic!”

Anyways, I know they’re obviously misled, but I’ve also been made aware of how dangerous they can be via the website xenu.net

So my question is, how does one effectively talk to a Scientologist? Has anyone here had dealings with them? I want to help them and show them the Truth, but at the same time, many others have been hurt quite viciously (financially, socially, and mentally) by the “Church of Scientology” when they became targets.

Since I’m still somewhat new to the Catholic faith, and to apologetics in general, what should I do?

I grew up next door to a Scientologist family - the “religion” has been around for a long time! The dad was just plain nuts - I think he was in it for the money. He did e-meter readings. The mom finally left it, but doesn’t say anything against it because she doesn’t want to alienate her children. The kids (all grown up now) are all still involved as far as I know.

Since they can believe just about anything - there’s no real doctrine - it’s impossible to debate or argue with them. First, pray for them. Then, if you want to converse with them (don’t know why anyone would - hard-core believers are quite strange), just tell them about & explain the doctrines of the Church.

If you can catch someone at the beginning, point out the weirdness & inconsistancies of Scientology. L. Ron Hubbard is considered to be even more infallible than the Pope. One of the things he taught & that stuck in my mind (because I’ve been a LLL leader) was that American women are too “nervous” to breastfeed. He gave a formula that called for cow’s milk, corn syrup & (I think) water. Very, very unhealthy!