St. Therese, Disciple of the Imitation

• Thread starter Thread starter Joysong
  • Start date Start date
Status
Not open for further replies.
J

Joysong

Someone recently posted a thread about the treasures they were finding in reading the Imitation of Christ, and shared an excerpt with us from the book. I tried unsuccessfully to find it with the search function, so I will just comment in a new thread here.

The dear friend whom I refer to above had perked my interest in one of my favorite books of spirituality, and I have to say, it was collecting dust for a few years as I studied other works. So I began reading it again, and came upon a remarkable discovery! St. Therese’s “little way” and doctrine was all over the book!

In many of the chapters, as I read, I could see, “Oh my gosh! Therese!” I suppose it is little wonder, for she had the book memorized so well that her family used to test her to see if she could quote the writings.

Many of us, including me, might have believed, since she studied St. John of the Cross in her later years, that he was her mentor. I am convinced that she became a saint by reading the Imitation, and echoed Kempis’s doctrine in her very life. What a hidden journey I found into the heart of St. Therese!

Maybe some of you who love this little book might want to share similarities that you noticed as well.

Dear Carole

I haven’t read the Imitation of Christ but I am looking forward to reading what you and other people have to say about this in your thread.