The constant fight against sin

• Thread starter Thread starter Melodi
  • Start date Start date
Status
Not open for further replies.
M

Melodi

Hi, I’m a newbie here, so don’t know if this has been discussed before, if so, I am happy to go look for it.

I have recently started growing in my faith and as a result have been a lot more conscious of my sins. I am praying, studying the bible and just spending more time thinking being with God in my day to day life.

At first, I was elated, I was full of joy of the renewed connection with the Lord. It encouraged me to be more vigilant in my actions and thoughts. And as a result it seems that I keep on failing… I start every day committed to being better, more loving, more merciful. And it seems not five minutes later I am frustrated, angry, selfish, unkind… if I catch myself I pray, and it often helps, and I thank God for his helping hand. But then the next moment comes and it all starts again…

My question is, am I the exception? Does anyone else feel like living well is a constant battle? I am ready to fight the fight if that’s what is needed, but maybe I am going about it the wrong way?

I am a selfish person, this is something in particular that I am struggling to overcome. Many of my sins stem from not being able to put others ahead of myself. If and when I do, I feel resentful and this resentment often builds and when I am not able to shed it, I am back at square one. I know prayer is the answer, but maybe someone has any practical tips?

Thank you!

No. You are not exceptional. We are all the same. We all have high hopes for ourselves but we find that invariably we fall short.

If I had my time again I would be a better son. A better brother. A better husband. A better father. A better person.