the Rosary

• Thread starter Thread starter auroraj42
  • Start date Start date
Status
Not open for further replies.
A

auroraj42

I prayed the Rosary for the first time ever today, in honor of a family member who died tragically over the weekend…today is his viewing but we are unable to attend.

It helped me feel some peace, and it also confirmed for me that I am on the right path, that RCIA is where I need to be right now.

I do have one question though. when you begin each decade, do you read the versus that correspond to that part of Jesus’ life? I am not as well versed as I should be, but I was wondering if most people are able to recall it from memory to meditate on, or they are like me, and need the Bible there to read it…

Thanks,
Peace be with you,
Jamie

I am relatively new to the rosary as well. I have only been doing it for about 3 months and Sunday is the day I pray my rosary. I have this great little pamhplet put out by (I think) the Divine Mercy Chaplet, but I will check that tonight and let you know. It gives the words to all the prayers, all of the mysteries, and with each mystery it includes a pertinent Biblical verse. So I don’t have to break out my Bible to find the verse, it gives it to me. This little pamphlet is great for me!

I’m sorry for the loss of your loved one, but happy you have found peace in the Church. Its ok if you use a book or a meditation. Sometimes I do & sometimes I don’t. When I don’t I usually try to get a “movie” going in my head for each mystery, you know, a picture is worth 1000 words. When you start doing it regularly you will actually memorize verses without even trying!

There was also a poster here that would incorporate the mystery into the Hail Mary, so for the 1st Joyful mystery you could say,