the singing?

• Thread starter Thread starter flatliner
  • Start date Start date
Status
Not open for further replies.
F

flatliner

I am new to the catholic faith. I pretty much read my way in. i assume i was lead by the Spirit. Anyway, I love the catholic faith. The logic and the sense of it really appeals to me. But I can’t sing to save my life. And I don’t really like the singing in mass. It sort of bothers me. I stand in the back and don’t sing, but what should I do about being bothered by the singing of others? Is there something wrong with me? Should I just show up late, take communion and leave? I am sort of stressed about this.

hmmm, what kind of singing are you hearing at Mass? I have a bad voice myself, so I only sing the stuff that I can atleast get a couple of the notes right.

I have a suspicion that you are getting the sort of modern music of most Masses. So the best thing for you might probably be to find a Latin Mass, or one that has Gregorian Chant. The music is unobtrusive but at the same time glorious. IMO.

In any case, one should pray to accept other people wanting to sing in praise. They might not get all the notes right or just rub us the wrong way, but some people find their connection with Our Lord strengthened with singing.

Your singing is part of your worship. It is something you do to worship God. If you were given a pathetic voice, unfortunate, but sing anyway. It is not about entertaining or enriching those about you. Similary those about you probably sound good to God so igonore them. Concentrate on the Mass and your prayer.