Unexplained connection with saints

• Thread starter Thread starter Grace_and_Glory
  • Start date Start date
Status
Not open for further replies.
G

Grace_and_Glory

Over the course of the past few months, I’ve found myself growing very close to a particular saint, St. Athanasius of Alexandria, who fought the Arian heresy. I have no idea why I feel such a connection with him, because he was a fourth-century bishop and I’m a twenty-first century college student. I didn’t even know too much about him when I started to feel this connection, but it has grown over time. First it was just a general sense of excitement on his feast day (in May). Then I read an article that mentioned him (in July) and felt a profound sense of respect for him, much more emotionally based than I’d felt for a saint before. Over the past few months, that respect has deepened into affection. I’m reading about him, trying to figure out why I feel such a connection with him, but I can’t figure it out. He’s obviously an awesome saint, but there are many awesome saints I don’t feel this way about, including saints who would seem to be more similar to me. Has this happened to anyone else?
For now, I’m assuming that he was praying for me, and that that’s why I felt such a connection to him. That does leave the interesting question of why he would be praying for me. I’m asking him to pray for me now, so even if he wasn’t praying for me before, he definitely is now.

Well, perhaps God has enlightened him as to a particular purpose for his prayers in your life. Maybe he had a particular grace that you will need in times to come.

Be thankful for this is a gift from Heaven that there is one so close to God interceding on your behalf.

Hey me too!

In the last few months, his name keeps popping up, and I find myself laughing about his personal history and story. He certainly seemed to be a very rough and tumble kinda guy.