What to do when others use God's name in vain?

• Thread starter Thread starter Mel022
  • Start date Start date
Status
Not open for further replies.
M

Mel022

Hello,
First, I would like to point out that I might be scrupulous.

I live in a big city where atheism is very present, especially at my school (I graduated from high school, but I’m not in university yet. It’s like a community college) I think that the majority of students are atheists

Almost everyone uses God’s name in vain. I posted a small text on social media that some of my friends can see where I remind them that using God’s name in vain is very disrespectful (I really did not mean to sound judgmental, and I don’t know if they are all aware that it’s not okay)

However, I have a problem when others who aren’t my friends do it. I think that it happens very often. What do I do in these cases? What about when a teacher does it? (Correcting a teacher is too uncomfortable…)

I’m just very confused, I don’t want to be committing a mortal sin by not telling them. And I can’t know for sure if there will be a positive effect or not, and I don’t even know when the people in question are atheists or not.

Could anyone help me with this? When am I obliged to correct them? I’ve read a little about it, but I’m not certain yet…

Thank you

Last edited:
I know Archbishop Fulton Sheen told people tp do a part of the Litany of the most Holy Name of Jesus to ask for forgiveness for whoever did it.

As a non Christian, I have my moments doing this, too. It’s a habit…and a bad one…but I’m not sure there is a once and done cure for it. Many times the person doesn’t even realize they’ve said it nor do they realize they’ve offended anyone.