When Someone You Love Dies

• Thread starter Thread starter tomaskovarik
  • Start date Start date
Status
Not open for further replies.
T

tomaskovarik

Hi guys,
during the past few days (as I joined this site), I have shared with you half of my life and you showed a great interest in some of it. And so, I will also share this very deep story of my life which influenced me and maybe, it might help someone who goes (or went) through a similar ordeal.
In the year 1998 I met this incredible woman (her name was Nina by the way), and I immediately fell in love with her, and she fell in love with me. It was the “first sight” kind of thing, but without later regrets. She came from a Catholic family (her parents are still practicing, her dad is a deacon), but she never really believed in God, she was a chemist by profession. I could never convince her, so we usually avoided the topic and instead of Jesus we discussed Socrates or Beethoven. What is worse, she used to be earlier involved with wicca practices and tarrot and she remained very interested in this New Age movement.

Two years of a total bliss followed and then suddenly she died. From one day to another basically. She contracted a lyme disease and had an unusual reaction to the medication. My entire world collapsed, I was absolutely devastated. I collapsed on the floor of the ICU unit in the hospital where she died.
I started to drink (almost as a stereotype), left the Church and tried to contact her, seeking the assistance of various mediums, tarrot cards and similar nonsense.
Of course I never succeeded. It took the Holy Spirit about one year to bring me back to senses so that now I am pretty much back to my normal self, going about my profession, my faith in God has actually even deepened by this experience, since I suffered greatly (and so did Jesus - except that Jesus suffered for us and our salvation, whereas I suffered only for myself).