Which Creed ??

• Thread starter Thread starter Jscott-Nepa
  • Start date Start date
Status
Not open for further replies.
J

Jscott-Nepa

Its been a number of years since I prayed The Rosary but I pray it daily now and also pray The Chaplet of Divine Mercy a few times a week.

The problem I am incurring is since Im getting a bit older here, I have problems remembering the Apostles Creed which is prayed in both the Holy Rosary and The Chaplet of Divine Mercy.

Although much longer, I do know the Nicene Creed like the back of my hand since that is THE CREED prayed in Mass all of my life in the Roman Catholic faith.

My question for the Pro’s on the Board is this: It is acceptacle to replace the Apostles Creed with The Nicene Creed?

Thanks

I am not a Pro, but. Consider that you are praying to those in heaven. Don’t you think the newer Nicine Creed is accptable. After all the Nicine Creed was introduced in about the year 400. It was a more complete Creed.

If Rome said the Nicine Creed was to used in Mass, it is APPROVED. In my opinion the Apostle’s Creed is used to facilitate the prayer - it is simpler and shorter. Hey, I will never turn you in for using the Nicine Creed/

I’m glad you posted about this. I was just wondering something similar. I didn’t know that RC’s used the Nicene Creed! Lately I’ve started using the Nicene Creed rather than the Apostle’s Creed when I pray the Rosary because it is the Creed we (Episcopalians) pray during our Holy Eucharist (I call it Mass) services, so I felt more comfortable using it. I’m glad to hear it is okay to use for the Rosary. Thanks!

Oh Exporter,
Of course I know the Nicene Creed is “approved” as it is prayed during Mass.

My concern is I do not want to arbitrarily replace a prayer unless it is accepted by the Holy See. Upon all my research regarding The Holy Rosary through the years, I have never been given a choice as to which Creed could be prayed. Instructions have always stated “The Apostles Creed”.