Wikipedia process dilemma, wrt "Conflict of Interest"

• Thread starter Thread starter Edmundus1581
  • Start date Start date
Status
Not open for further replies.
E

Edmundus1581

Hopefully we have someone here with a good knowledge of Wikipedia’s editing principles.

I’ve been doing occasional edits to Wikipedia articles for more than ten years, so understand the technology and principles fairly well, but until now I’ve never got into anything controversial.

I have an acquaintance who is a conservative Australian journalist and social commentator, who must remain anonymous. Think maybe Rowan Dean or Andrew Bolt, or Anne Coulter in the US.

This man has had a Wikipedia article for many years. Recently it has been attacked by several Wiki editors intent on using any means within the rules to defame him by digging up “dirt”, using referenced citations to the person’s critics. In the last few months the length of the article has doubled with his critics’ comments. The attackers have also hijacked the page, watching every change like a hawk, and within minutes reverting anything they don’t like.

This man has asked me to fix it for him. He is so ignorant of Wikipedia that his first question was “Can we buy the page?”. 😂 I told him that we can’t do that, and can only go through it line by line making small changes, and always backing up anything with citations and being prepared to argue on the Talk page.

I also told him that I don’t have much time to put into this task, but that I’d be happy to put in any changes he wants made - so long as they are referenced.

He came back to me with a document listing several pages of desired changes, and good references.

I put a couple those changes in, successfully, and after a bit of a fight.

I’ve now discovered the Wikipedia “Conflict of Interest” page, and think I have a problem.

I am a supporter of this person, including financially with (low level) crowd funding, and somewhat of a “friend”.