Are you channeling satan when opening up your mind and asking to receive tongues?

• Thread starter Thread starter mary15
  • Start date Start date
Status
Not open for further replies.
M

mary15

To better pray to God, would it be channeling satan or other diabolic spirits by opening up your mind and asking to be gifted with the unknown languages of tongues?

This seems feasible, but I would love to hear back from others who are educated on such matters, as I am a beginner when it comes to the faith of the Church, as well as to prayer.

God bless.

Catholics don’t typically pray for the gift of tongues. Pray for the 7 gifts of the Holy Spirit instead If you are a new Catholic stick to the basics. God will supply you with all you need in prayer.

Oh, boy…

Anyway, not a single word in any language is needed for profound prayer. The heart is more useful than the tongue for prayer, actually. As to tongues, that is EXTREMELY controversial here and some Catholics have an almost visceral hatred of it. I do not understand their problem, but it remains. You’ll see it here in a few posts from now.

My advice: Call your local Catholic Charismatic Renewal and discuss this with them, realizing that tongues may not be your charism. It is not mine, yet I have had most profound experiences in silent prayer.

I’m not sure what you have in mind, but whatever special gift you pray for, should be used for the benefit of the community and to evangelize. As long as your heart is in the right place, I do not see Satan interfering.

Hi Mary15,

I’m not sure exactly how to answer your question but I do know that it is something that I’ve chosen not to get involved in.