Book Suggestions on Quantum Mechanics

• Thread starter Thread starter Christbearer98
  • Start date Start date
Status
Not open for further replies.
C

Christbearer98

Science folks, I’m studying philosophy and metaphysics and I began reading about quantum mechanics from a Thomist point of view, but I want to hear from the scientists themselves. Does anyone have a good suggestion as to a book I could read to learn about the subject? I’m looking for a source which is highly credible/authoritative, so that it can be used in conversation with atheists who deny causality based on that (also so I don’t go off believing some fringe-theory)

I think Physics and Philosophy by Werner Heisenberg is a good one, and the author has some of the highest authority around on the subject. Thoughts?

How much math do you know? Are you going for a textbook style or more of a lay persons guide?

Introduction to Quantum Mechanics by Griffiths.

You can buy it in Amazon.

This is the quintessential quantum mechanics book for physics undergraduates.

Basic knowledge of calculus, differential equations and linear algebra is required.

Last edited:
Yeah I don’t have that haha. But thanks for assuming the best

Not much. Lay person’s guide. I understand philosophy and I can probably grudge through something more technical, but math escapes my grasp.

This was the book I had but tbh without calculus I’m not sure the OP would extract much from it.

Edit: sorry I said this because he later said he doesn’t know calculus or linear algebra, or diff equations.

Last edited:
  1. Easy to understand and beginner level:
    No-nonsense Quantum mechanics by Jakob Schwichtenberg.
  2. More advanced level:
    a. Lectures on Quantum Mechanics by Steven Weinberg
    and
    b. Quantum mechanics, by Claude Cohen-Tannoudji, et. al.