Can a Traditional Catholic Man marry a Contemporary Catholic Woman?

• Thread starter Thread starter mUzda2
  • Start date Start date
Status
Not open for further replies.
M

mUzda2

Hello,

Can a man who loves tradition in the Church and attends the Latin Mass marry a woman who enjoys Christian contemporary music and attends Praise and Worship contemporary prayer/music sessions, provided that she knows that this music does not belong in the Mass?

Let us pray for each other.

Matt

Of course.

If this is a serious question to you; I would question whether you are ready for marriage at this point.

I would suggest making an appointment with her priest for both of you.

I have been preparing couples for matrimony for 18 years now, by the way.

Deacon Christopher

@Diaconia I’m still very young and not at all prepared for marriage at this point, but I have someone who I could see myself marrying in the future who enjoys these types of styles of Catholicism. That’s why I wanted to clarify.

Last edited:
Back then, there were a lot of pop culture films, TV shows, written works etc about traditionalist Catholic clergy and parishioners trying to get along with the ones who preferred jeans and guitars at Mass.

Also, the way you worded your post was very similar to the old school TV and movie promos that would ask a question like, “Can a man who [insert description of his tastes or background] and a woman who [insert description of woman’s taste or background that is like the polar opposite of the man’s] find happiness?” Then the whole program would be about how these two totally different people manage to have a romance despite their differences. There were dozens of programs like this.

Last edited:
Can a man who loves tradition in the Church and attends the Latin Mass marry a woman who enjoys Christian contemporary music and attends Praise and Worship contemporary prayer/music sessions, provided that she knows that this music does not belong in the Mass?