Confession Question

• Thread starter Thread starter kayla
  • Start date Start date
Status
Not open for further replies.
K

kayla

Hi…I’m a newbie here and have a question about confession.
first a little backgound info:
I am a baptized Catholic and strayed away from attending mass for almost 20 years(complicated life style) with the exception of xmas and Easter.
In the last couple of months I came back to the chruch.
I prayed for Jesus to come back into my life…now I love going to mass again.🙂 …I found a wonderfull book “Awake my Soul” and I’m hungry for more information.
now the question:
How often should one go to confession? once a week? once a month? only when one sins?
thanks all and God Bless!
kayla

kayla said:
How often should one go to confession? kayla

At least once per year.

The Holy Father goes to confession once per week. So by his example the more the better.

Hey, I just wanted to say, “AWESOME!” Welcome back.

If you are getting back into the Church after that period of time, I’d recommend going over to the Mary Foundation at www.catholicity.com and getting their free audio tapes/CDs. All of them are good, but specifically they have a tape on the sacrament of confession by Fr. Larry Richards.

Great insights into the sacrament. And a nice refresher on how to do a good examination of conscience.

When I went back to the Church after a time away, I really didn’t get the benefit and graces that I could have received from confession, because my examination of conscience was fairly superficial. Thus, although my sins were forgiven, I kept finding myself trapped in repeating my sins because I hadn’t confessed everything I should have.

Good luck.

kayla said:
Hi…I’m a newbie here and have a question about confession.
first a little backgound info:
I am a baptized Catholic and strayed away from attending mass for almost 20 years(complicated life style) with the exception of xmas and Easter.
In the last couple of months I came back to the chruch.