Diabetics Fasting?

• Thread starter Thread starter magdelena_paris
  • Start date Start date
Status
Not open for further replies.
M

magdelena_paris

I’m not sure if this is the place to post this but…

I’m hypoglycemic and borderline diabetic (doctor’s say i will be fully diabetic by the time I’m 30 or if i get pregnant). So what about fasting, i’m curious about doing it, but i’m not sure if i can because i have to eat every few hours. Is there another way of going about this?

I am under the impression that fasting should be done by those who are NOT under any kind of serious health condition. I am no doctor, but I would think you would be exempt from fasting. I do know that there are normally foods that you will avoid anyway to prevent the diabetes from developing any worse.

I would consult the Catechism of the Catholic Church (but I had a difficult time finding anything there). BUT I would consult Canon Law. There I am sure there is more explaination.

Go with God!
Edwin

Thank you very much…I’ll try to find it in the canon law. I wonder though, the foods that i can still eat but may cause my diabetes to develop, if I stop eating those, would that be considered fasting or just doing what is healthy?

I understand that you can talk with your priest and explain your health problem to him and receive a dispensation to consume something appropriate before receiving communion.
maggiec

If you must eat at certain intervals to avoid impairing your health, and avoid certain foods, so be it. You can still practice penance by eating your least favorite of the foods you are allowed, and by choosing water instead of coffee or tea. You could also practice other types of penance instead of fasting, for example abstaining from the use of radio, television, computer and the telephone.