Divine Office

• Thread starter Thread starter Marian
  • Start date Start date
Status
Not open for further replies.
M

Marian

I’m new to this, so excuse me if I make a mistake! What I’m after is info relating to the Divine Office. I’m hoping to join the Secular Order of Discalced Carmelites and one of the requirements involves certain prayers from the Office. The only problem is, I don’t know which week I should be using - the edition of the Office that I’m using only covers 1976-1999 and I can’t figure it out!

If you can help, or have any experience of the Secular Order of Discalced Carmelites, I’d love to hear from you.

two things:

1- you can purchase the divine office guide for year 2004, or

2- go to www.salvationhistory.com , Scott Hahn’s web site and there is a link there with each day’s readings and psalms.

👍 Thanks - I followed the link and it was very useful. I’ve saved it and will print it off for future reference.

Dear Marian,

Perhaps you are simply wondering where to start in the book. If that is the case, today, Thursday, May 27, you would say the Office of:

Thursday, Week III
Seventh Week of Easter
or
St. Augustine of Canterbury

If you are in England, chances are that today is a feast day for you. If so, you’d take everything from St. Augustine. Otherwise, you’d say the psalms from week III and everything from the reading to the concluding prayer would be from Thursday of the VII week of Easter.

Hope that helps but you’ll just have to struggle with it for a few months, like everyone else!

Sincerely yours in our Lord,
Br. Dan (OCD :))

You can also get the Divine office readings online at Universalis.com . It does not cost anything and it is much easier to use than finding the right way to flip through the pages of the written books. You can also download the prayers onto a PDA. I find this very convenient. By the way, you can also get the daily mass readings on a PDA through the avantgo site Mobile Gabriel