General unhappiness with wealth, life, etc

• Thread starter Thread starter DaveEucharist
  • Start date Start date
Status
Not open for further replies.
D

DaveEucharist

I hope this is the right place to put this. I’ve been thinking about life lately and have trouble talking with people in person about this. I have, but would like more opinions.

I tend to be very unhappy with my life, its accomplishments, etc. I am a 27 year old single/unmarried male in a medical profession. I am not a doctor but intend on entering a doctorate before I am 35. I don’t mean to boast at all in this message. I have an Ivy League education, make ~$172,000/year, live in a luxury apartment with gym/doorman/housekeeping,etc, have a nice car paid off, nice fitted and tailored/high end garments, subscribe to regular opera concerts in NYC (Metropolitan Opera).

I will have more than enough money saved up before starting medical school that I can continue to live comfortably as a student.

Things that bother me:

1.) What I enjoy now I couldn’t enjoy when I was younger? So what then.
2.) What I enjoy as a doctor with a speciality (300-400K+ salary) later…what will it matter…it’s so cliche and average to be an “old fart” (no offense) with that much luxury
3.) Basically, this bothers me about life: that we can’t have everything at once. Does it bother anyone else at all?!?! I’m not sure why it bothers me.

I never feel like I have enough. My opera seats with a girlfriend and other friends are in the $100-150 range. But, so what. I feel so inadequate and inferior because others around my age can afford so much more. Does anyone else feel like this?

I just feel like life is a constant chase after luxuries. Others have more around my age, or have had more when they were younger than me. It just negates everything I have an accomplished!