Genuflecting

• Thread starter Thread starter patricia
  • Start date Start date
Status
Not open for further replies.
P

patricia

This may sound like a dumb question but I am new to Catholicism and so I ask you to bear patiently with me.

How does one genuflect? What is the purpose of it? When should it be done? Does one cross oneself at the same time?

I am afraid of trying it without explanation as I do not want to fall or look foolish.

Any explanations would be helpful. Thank you. :confused:

Welcome to the Church!

The purpose of genuflection is to show reverence to our Lord Jesus Christ, so it is done whenever one comes into the presence (or passes in front of) the Holy Eucharist, unless one is physically incapacitated… in that event one could make a less athletic sign of reverence such as bowing.

The traditional method is to descend to the ground on the right knee while making the sign of the cross with the right hand. If you are not familiar with this there would be no harm in practicing in private until you have mastered it. Monks used to genuflect 100s of times as a form of penance.

BTW, the GIRM says:
  1. A genuflection, made by bending the right knee to the ground, signifies adoration, and therefore it is reserved for the Most Blessed Sacrament, as well as for the Holy Cross from the solemn adoration during the liturgical celebration on Good Friday until the beginning of the Easter Vigil.
If you ever meet a pope, cardinal, or other royalty, or if you are formal enough to genuflect when meeting a bishop, do so on your left knee. 👍

Also: During Eucharistic exposition, a solemn genuflection (down to one knee, adding the other in a full kneeling position, brief pause, then back up on your feet) is merited.
(exceptions made, of course, for those physically incapable of genuflecting on one side or the other)

40.png
tee_eff_em: