How detailed are you supposed to be when abstaining from meat?

  • Thread starter Thread starter mellowcalico
  • Start date Start date
Status
Not open for further replies.
👍 Hilarious!

Personally, coming from a Jewish background as I do, I was wondering about the broth question myself, and what was/wasn’t legal on lenten Fridays. That is partly because I’m a baby as far as Catholic practice is concerned (not officially Catholic yet) so I’m still learning. The other reason is that Jewish dietary law is very strict. One molecule of a prohibited food is not considered acceptable if one keeps kosher. I was glad to see that the Catholic Church isn’t quite as nit-picky about this.
You are right, the rules we have are less strict. Don’t worry, you will not need two separate sets of dishes, etc. Just don’t eat meat on Fridays during lent nor on Ash Wed and you are good to go with abstinence. 🙂

And welcome! (to the Catholic Church)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top