I am disappointed with some Catholics

• Thread starter Thread starter copland
  • Start date Start date
Status
Not open for further replies.
C

copland

I have been in love with the Catholic Church for awhile. I long to join the Church. I believe the teachings all the way, but am bound right now trying to lead my family there.

I have been zealous for God for years. I have been a passionate student of the Bible and have been in awe with the teachings of the Catechism and Church Fathers ever since I have been studying Catholicism.

But I must say this. I live in an area that is mostly protestant. So I don;t get to meet many Catholics and talk to them. And the ones I do get to talk to don;t like to talk about their faith. They seem intimidated with the subject. This is driving me crazy!!! I can talk to many protestants and they love to talk about their faith. But I have shared my love for the Church with different Catholics in my area but they seem to lack the zeal that I see in Catholics that I talk to on the net. What’s the deal here?? I have even emailed and met a preist in this area and even shared my feelings about the Chruch and he seems to not be the least bit concerned about giving me some attention as far as talking to me about coming to Mass.

Is this a norm? Or is it just bad luck? I wish these Catholics in my area had a portion of the zeal and knowledge of God as I have seen on discussion forums.

I dont’ think they’re intimidated… but for lack of better term I will use the word intimidated.

I think they notice your zeal and feel guilty about it. They see your zeal with your faith and know deep inside that they should do the same… I guess it’s somewhat safe to say that their pride got in the way so they feel intimidated because they know that they should be zealous with their faith as well.