Is it ok for me to eat "halal" meat for dinner?

  • Thread starter Thread starter ZoonCorp
  • Start date Start date
Status
Not open for further replies.
Z

ZoonCorp

Guest
I may be scrupulous, but my parents came home today after shopping. When I saw that they bought some lamb meat, they said that it was from “that arabic store”. I know that the meat sold there is “halal”, that’s at least what the store assert.

I am a bit afraid to eat the meat, however. I do not want to anger God and put myself in sin.

At the same time I don’t want to upset my parents by being “spoiled” or “annyoing” or “unthankful”, if that makes sense. I am a traditional Catholic, whereas my parents are more of the modern Vatican II kind, so it may be that they do not care as much. My mother doesn’t even know what “halal” means.

What should I do?
 
So why on earth do you think you cannot eat this meat?

Can you tell us why you thought it was wrong?
 
It’s fine to eat halal or kosher meat even though Christians are not bound by those dietary laws. It refers to the way the animal is killed and the meat is butchered.
 
I may be scrupulous, but my parents came home today after shopping. When I saw that they bought some lamb meat, they said that it was from “that arabic store”. I know that the meat sold there is “halal”, that’s at least what the store assert.

I am a bit afraid to eat the meat, however. I do not want to anger God and put myself in sin.

At the same time I don’t want to upset my parents by being “spoiled” or “annyoing” or “unthankful”, if that makes sense. I am a traditional Catholic, whereas my parents are more of the modern Vatican II kind, so it may be that they do not care as much. My mother doesn’t even know what “halal” means.

What should I do?
It’s basically a ritual form of animal slaughter, similar to the rules regulating animal slaughter among the Jews.

And quite frankly, where I come from, all meat is “halal”; unless I went vegetarian (which I have no intention of doing :D) I have no alternative.

I don’t think it’s a problem at all. You’re not participating in a Muslim religious ritual of any sort; meat is meat, regardless of how it’s been slaughtered.
 
Since St. Paul said it was okay for the early Christians to eat meat from the animals that were sacrificed to idols (see 1 Corinthians 8), I’m pretty sure you’re okay. 😉 Meat is just meat.

Be at peace.
 
At the same time I don’t want to upset my parents by being “spoiled” or “annyoing” or “unthankful”, if that makes sense. I am a traditional Catholic, whereas my parents are more of the modern Vatican II kind, so it may be that they do not care as much. My mother doesn’t even know what “halal” means.

What should I do?
Enjoy. I mean, you’d eat a kosher hotdog wouldn’t you? Halal only carries weight with a Muslim, has nothing to do with anyone else. Say Grace and dig in.
 
My mother doesn’t even know what “halal” means.
She’s not the only one. I often see a food truck where the sign says something like “Halal Food Truck.” I just assumed it was owned by a guy named Mr. Halal. Then I saw a few restaurants with that same “name.” I had never eaten at any of these places, but I thought wow, this guy must be pretty good. When I mentioned something about that to my husband, he explained to me that it was a kind of food, not the owner of the place. Then I felt 😊

ZoonCorp, did you eat it? How was it?
 
Go eat enjoy!!!
From what I’ve read some (not all) mislems if they can’t get ‘hatat’ meat but can get ‘kosher’ meat they will use the ‘kosher’ meat. :)🙂
 
Thanks for the replies, everyone!
So why on earth do you think you cannot eat this meat?

Can you tell us why you thought it was wrong?
I read somewhere that we should refrain from eating food that has been sacrificed to false gods or idols.
She’s not the only one. I often see a food truck where the sign says something like “Halal Food Truck.” I just assumed it was owned by a guy named Mr. Halal. Then I saw a few restaurants with that same “name.” I had never eaten at any of these places, but I thought wow, this guy must be pretty good. When I mentioned something about that to my husband, he explained to me that it was a kind of food, not the owner of the place. Then I felt 😊

ZoonCorp, did you eat it? How was it?
That was quite funny 😃

I did eat it, and it was delicious!
 
I read somewhere that we should refrain from eating food that has been sacrificed to false gods or idols.
a) Halal meat is neither of these things.

b) This prescription pertained to first century Christians living in the Roman culture where animals were, in fact, sacrificed to the pantheon of gods. The prescription was to avoid confusion and give a clear witness.
 
Go eat enjoy!!!
From what I’ve read some (not all) mislems if they can’t get ‘hatat’ meat but can get ‘kosher’ meat they will use the ‘kosher’ meat. :)🙂
i find that very hard to believe…

could i have a link please…

the prayers are totally different over the animal it is killing.the same as the gods they are praying to…

muslims dont say they come from yahweh,they say allah…

have you asked a muslim if they worship yahweh at all?listen to what they have to say…

it might make you delete your post…

i could be wrong,but please provide a link to where you have read this please…
 
i would just like to state for the record,that i eat halal sometimes…but like any other time i eat my food, i bless myself with the sign of the cross and thank god with the trinity for receiving it.
 
please dont give my a sanitised version of islam…give me it from the root…which muslims is this thread stating that say this??

i thought you were better than that.

i have muslim friends who tell me this is harram…

did you know that muslims can also eat pork,but ask them and they say no.but they can in cases of starving to death,now this might be the case of Kosher,but they have not told you the full story…

thats islam…😉
 
Not just *some *Jewish commentators- every single Orthodox rabbi on earth. Bar none.

But we digress…
 
I don’t know if you can or not.

But I can guarantee you the the so called halal or casher meat are all dying the same way as traditional meat. Its just a label. Speak of someone who knows people working in Rungis, (which is the largest market in Europe, if not in the world)
 
As far as Catholic rules for eating goes, you can eat just about anything so long as you are not being gluttonous. Also, during Lent you’re not supposed to eat meat on Friday. Some people won’t eat meat on any Friday of the year in honor of Christ’s passion and death.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top